Skip to content

I’m making a documentary film on Goth – GOTH:insideOUT

February 4, 2010

For the past few years, on and off, I’ve been filming a documentary on the Goth subculture.

The film is directed by me and is a feature-length effort. It will be finished in the coming months. It’s called GOTH:insideOUT.

I did a rough assembly edit of the footage a few weeks ago, and it came to about 2 hours. It needs to be edited down a lot further and I’m still filming some parts. The final film will run about 90 minutes, with additional extras on the DVD, like live performances from Goth bands and extended interviews. I’m thinking about releasing a soundtrack as well.

I’ve brought on an editor to assist with the film and I’m pretty happy about that. I’m also working with a videographer whom I’ve worked with a few times in the past, and I am doing some camera work for this project, too.

If you have something to say about the Goth subculture (pro or con), you’re a band, or have a Goth business, get in touch and let me know. I may want to interview you for the film. And, you need not live in Toronto to be interviewed.

A Website for the film will be going online soon, with more details, exclusive offers and sneak peaks. So, sign up for the mailing list to be notified when it goes live and get some Gothy goodness! (edit – the site is now live at http://gothinsideout.com)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dogsear permalink
    July 1, 2011 5:23 PM

    It’s nearly a year and a half since you wrote this. Is the film in the can?

    • August 18, 2011 3:05 PM

      No yet, due to lack of funds. I attempted a funding drive for the film, but it didn’t succeed. So, I’ll have to wait to get it finished in the way I’d like, including animation and an editor. If I can find an editor and animator who will work on deferral, the film may get finished sooner, than than later. In the meantime, I’ve been releasing clips from the film in order to generate further interest, and to get some of the material out there. I see the film evolving into/in tandem with a Web presence, where extended scenes from the film are shown online in their entirety. I also shoot new footage for the project on an ongoing basis: I just got some footage of “Gothic bowling” last week that will be added to the film. Search for “GOTH:insideOUT” on YouTube and you should find the latest clips. The site for the film is in transition, but should be up again soon at gothinsideout.com and gothinsideout.wordpress.com. Thanks for your question and interest.

Leave a Reply

